June 04, 2011

☼ Mike Dred / Peter Green – The First Machine Codes Compilation 1993-1997

In celebration of the restart of the Machine Codes label in 2010, and in anticipation of the new CODE1010 Kosmik Kommando LP, here's some way-early stuff for ya'll to freak-out on until then ;)
Mike Dred is the general pseudonym of experimental techno DJ, producer, and sound engineer Michael C. Cullen, of Lowestoft, UK. He has been a leading DJ since 1983, a producer since 1988, a sound designer since 1992, and is considered an important figure in the development of acid techno and innovative usage of the Roland TB-303, associating him with fellow artists Tom Middleton, Aphex Twin, and Matthew Herbert. He is also known as The Kosmik Kommando, Universal Indicator, Chimera, Machine Codes, Space Avenger, and DJ Judge Dred. He was the first artist other than Richard D. James to release a project on Rephlex. His clear vinyl "Kosmik Kommando EP" was the 3rd release and was given a catalogue number CAT007 on account of his interest in James Bond. In addition, the Universal Indicator records released on Rephlex are amongst the most collectible recordings in the history of techno music. Mike Dred established the Machine Codes record label in 1993 and also recorded for R&S Records and R&S Records offshoot Diatomyc. He has also collaborated extensively with the electro-acoustic artist Peter Green (not to be confused with his namesake, the blues-rock guitarist Peter Green of Fleetwood Mac fame) and has produced a one-off collaboration with techno producer Dr. Fernando.
As well as presenting new developments in electronic and computer music, Mike has also given lectures on Sound Design and Synthesis. Mike is the inspiration behind Electro-acoustic Music being represented on a more popular level. His works with Peter Green dating from 1995 educated & inspired the likes of Richard D. James aka. The Aphex Twin to discover the genre culminating in the signing of LPs by Robert Normandeau, Senior Lecturer in Acoustics and Electro-acoustics at the Universite de Montreal, Canada and experimentalist Pierre Bastien from France. This helped further establish Rephlex Records as the premier UK electronic label. Mike Dred and Peter Green’s early sonic experiments prompted Dave Robinson, then Editor of Future Music (November 1995, Issue 37), to write: "We boldly call ourselves Future Music. But how often do we bring you something so forward-looking, yet at the same time so contemporary that it might - just might set the agenda for the next post-techno, post-analogue phase?"

Release Year(s): 1997
Artist(s) Country: UK
Label(s): Machine Codes

Track Listing:
01. Mike Dred: Helta Skelta (6:26)
02. Mike Dred: After The Tears (6:52)
03. Mike Dred: My Bassline Is The Melody (6:11)
04. Mike Dred: Reach Inside (6:04)
05. Mike Dred: Face The Future (6:05)
06. Mike Dred: Retrospective (6:23)
07. Mike Dred: Wash The Telly (5:03)
08. Mike Dred & Peter Green: Monkey Systems One-Oh-Seven (4:41)
09. Mike Dred & Peter Green: Grrearra Falcon (5:24)
10. Mike Dred: Marsh Mallow (6:16)
11. Mike Dred: Down On Marne Avenue (6:32)
12. Peter Green: Modus Vivendi (10:43)

320K(RS) -or-(MEGA↑) -or-(DF)
FLAC(RS) -or-(MEGA↑) -or-(DF)

No comments: