May 27, 2010

☼ CoH + Cosey Fanni Tutti - CoH Plays Cosey [May 2008 re-post]

One of Raster Noton's most prolific and productive artists, Ivan Pavlov teams up with performance artist and Throbbing Gristle member Cosey Fanni Tutti for an album of challenging collaborative material. Following on from his correspondence with Cosey, Pavlov was given a number of her vocal performances, based on texts drawn up between the two of them (the accompanying booklet outlines precisely who wrote what, line by line). Applying his distinctive approach to digital minimalism, Pavlov set about shaping an album using nothing but these vocal recordings, all re-sculpted into various experimentally-minded formats. The resultant music sets off balance the conventionally very unemotional, disciplined Raster Noton universe, combining the microsonic language of the glitch with Cosey Fanni Tutti's often very intimate, impassioned vocal tracts. You might compare this combination of vocals with abstract electronics to the sort of work Maja Ratkje has recorded, particularly on her still incredible 'Voice' album on Rune Grammofon, but while Ratkje's music used the voice as a raw sound source, CoH maintains emphasis on the role of language. It's the lyrical content that really defines this work: slivers of syllables glimpsed enigmatically through Pavlov's pinhole production creep into the consciousness, leaving an uncomfortably candid, often charged portrait of the relationship between these two artists. On occasions the music doesn't permit any language to get through at all though, instead regurgitating the vocal as pure, robotic rhythm (as on 'Near You'), while at others Pavlov's music is very much the servant of Cosey's vocal, as on the whispers and airy drone textures of 'Inside', or the largely wordless 'Lost'. Key to the success of this album is that despite drawing purely on the human voice for its sound source, the creative dialogue between the two players never feels like it's repeating itself, suggesting there's still life in the collaboration beyond this first set of recordings. Challenging stuff from this exceptional label.

Год: 2008
Страна: UK
Лейбл: Raster-Noton

01. Closer (5:11)
02. Crazy (5:58)
03. Mad (6:06)
04. Sin-King (8:26)
05. Lost (4:29)
06. Near You (4:53)
07. Fuck It (4:00)
08. Inside (4:58)
09. Lying (5:34)

Скачать: HERE

No comments: