April 25, 2010

☼ Iron Halo Device - The Collapsing Void [February 2009 re-post]

"The Collapsing Void" has two distinct segments. Tracks 01-04 were recorded live at the Hurricane in Kansas City on July 31, 1996. The performance was composed entirely of samples taken from other bands. You can easily identify the obvious cuts borrowed from Nine Inch Nails, Dead Can Dance, Skinny Puppy, Coil, Curve, Lords Of Acid, SPK, etc., etc. The detailed letters from music industry lawyers contained within the liner notes show that Iron Halo Device is definitely not a band that fears litigation. Tracks 05-08 were compiled from home studio demos written and recorded in August and September 1995, utilizing the same guerilla recording techniques. Most of the sample material, however, is based on slowed or accelerated percussion and drones, rather than than readily identifiable cuts. Yet the trained ear can hear a bit of Lustmord on 'The Abduction of Winter' so the samples are not that well masked. A slithery, all encompassing sonic octopus of diverse samples manipulated into cohesive, illusive, mind altering songs. A jumble of percussive elements, a hazy rippling horizon of sounds and sonic textures flow from inception to realization with smooth, deceptive grace. You'll applaud Philip T. Easter for his daring sample based construction techniques and his dedication to the artists who contributed unknowingly.

Год: 1996
Страна: USA
Лейбл: Malignant Records

01. Eyespark, The Man [Introduction] (12:04)
02. Intruding The Skin [Penetration] (10:37)
03. The Collapsing Void [Reflection] (15:41)
04. An Empty Anthem [Completion] (9:15)
05. The Abduction Of Winter [Creation] (5:55)
06. The Expanding Void [Evolution] (4:19)
07. Red Memory [Observation] (3:32)
08. A Passion Vessel [Contemplation] (3:30)